Nov 22, 2021 3:41 PM

🏈Monarchs land 14 players on all MCL teams

Posted Nov 22, 2021 3:41 PM

The TMP-Marian Monarchs football team had 14 players named to 18 spots on the 2021 all Mid-Continent League teams after recording their second straight winning season.

Junior quarterback Kade Harris, senior wide receiver Jace Wentling and offensive lineman Matthew Hess were all named to the first team offense.

Harris finished with 2,000 total yards of offense and 19 touchdowns.

Wentling hauled in a career-high 32 passes for 423 yards and three touchdowns. Wenting finished with at least one reception in 26 straight games and 29-of-30 games in three seasons.

Wentling and Harris were also named to the first team defense as defensive backs and sophomore Kendall Walker was a first team pick at defensive tackle.

Harris led the Monarchs with a career-high 115 tackles. He also finished with 10 tackles for loss.

Wentling also recorded a career-high with 68 tackles and one interception that was returned for a touchdown.

Walker led TMP with 11 tackles for loss and finished with 52 tackles on the year.

TMP also swept the first team special teams spots. Wentling was named to the first team as both a kicker and a punter and Harris was named to the first team as a retuner.

Hess also earned second team all-league honors on the defensive line. He was joined on the second team by senior linebacker Bryce Seib and offensive lineman Kolten Hagans.

Sieb also earned honor mention honors at running back and Walker was named to the honorable mention offensive line.

Senior Mark Rack (wide receiver) and Kenton Ginther (tight end) were also named to the honorable mention team.

Junior lineman Michael Hale was named to the honorable mention team for both offensive and defensive line.

TMP finished the season 8-2 and lost to Kingman in the 2A state quarterfinals.

This season marked just the third time a TMP team had advanced past the first round of the playoffs. It was also the first time since 2002 that a TMP team won a first round and second round playoff game and the eight wins was the most since 2002.

You can find a complete list below.