May 20, 2020 10:34 AM

Nex-Tech announces 2020 scholarship recipients

Posted May 20, 2020 10:34 AM


LENORA — Nex-Tech this week announced the recipients of the Nex-Tech “Break the Rules” Scholarship. 

“Unlike most scholarship programs, this one allows high school seniors to send us any type of entry that depicts what they are most passionate about and how that has led to their chosen career path,” said Jacque Beckman, Nex-Tech’s Youth Services/Training Specialist. “We have received everything from essays to photos in framed collages to YouTube videos and PowerPoints. Our area students are very talented, and this allows them a non-traditional way to showcase their strengths and passions.”

Many creative and well-thought-out entries were received, and Nex-Tech wishes every student success as they embark on their future education and career path.  The following 10 students will each receive a $1,000 award for excellence in showcasing their passion and describing how it led to their chosen career.

Carson Ackerman is the son of Jeff and Kelly Ackerman of Hays.  He is a student in Hays High School and plans to attend Kansas State University, where he will pursue an education in Sportscasting/Broadcast Journalism.

Madison Gottstine is the daughter of Phil and Janet Gottstine of Logan.  She is a student at Logan High School.  Madison will attend Fort Hays State University to study Elementary Music Education.

Camryn Greving is the daughter of Colby and Cher Greving of Prairie View.  She attends Logan High School.  Camryn will study Healthcare at Fort Hays State University, majoring in Health and Human Performance with an emphasis on sports and exercise, then continuing her education to become a Physician’s Assistant.

Connor Haresnape is the son of Michael and Wendy Haresnape of Norton.  He is a student at Norton Community High School and will attend Newman University to study Human Health Sciences and Biology, as he works towards his goal of becoming a Physical Therapist.

Reanna Harman is the daughter of Dusty and Rachel Harman of Hays.  She is a student at Hays High School and will attend Fort Hays State University, majoring in Biology (pre-dentistry).  Reanna aspires to become a Dentist.

Patrick Heath is the son of Dan Heath and Kim Heath of Great Bend.  He attends Great Bend High School.  Patrick plans to study Graphic Design at Wichita State University. 

Hayley Keller is the daughter of Myron and Rachel Keller of Palco.  She is a student at Palco High School and will attend Wichita State University.  Hayley plans to major in Political Science and minor in Communications.

Caitlin Kuhl is the daughter of Stephen and Sara Kuhl of Hays.  Caitlin attended Hays High School for two years and was then accepted into the Kansas Academy of Math and Science program at Fort Hays State University.  She will attend the University of Kansas majoring in Aerospace Engineering.

Delaney Maier is the daughter of David and Rhiannon Maier of Hays.  She is a student at Hays High School and plans to attend NCK Tech in Hays to study Nursing.

Tyrell McKeon is the son of Shawn and Rita McKeon of Osborne.  He is a student at Osborne High School and will attend Colby Community College for Veterinary Medicine.