Apr 27, 2020 10:09 AM

NW Kan. students earn Kan. Farm Bureau Foundation scholarships

Posted Apr 27, 2020 10:09 AM


MANHATTAN – Each year Kansas Farm Bureau’s Foundation for Agriculture awards scholarships to college students studying in fields that benefit agriculture and rural Kansas. Forty-two recipients received $25,000 in scholarships for the 2020-21 school year.

Over the past decade, the foundation has awarded more than $325,000 in scholarships.

“We’re investing in students today to ensure they become tomorrow’s leaders,” says KFB President and Foundation Chair Rich Felts.

Max Harman, McPherson County, was awarded $1,000 for the Frank and Helen Bernasek Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund.Allison Smith, Johnson County, received $1,000 for the K-State Agricultural Communications and Journalism Scholarship.

Colt Sutterby, Bourbon County, is the winner of the $500 Godfrey and Emma Bahr Miller Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund for students attending a college in Kansas and majoring in a subject related to agronomy and conservation.

Kinsey Griffith, Trego County, was awarded $500 for the DeWitt Ahlerich Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund.

Eight students received scholarships to Kansas technical colleges. They are Sydnee Beal, Harper County; Lane Berkenmeier, Wabaunsee County; Kyle Frederking, Lincoln County; Gage Harding, Neosho County; Joel Kennedy, Jackson County; Andrea Price, Butler County; Daniel Romero, Wichita; and Devin Simmonds, Doniphan County.

Four $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled in Kansas State University’s college of agriculture and majoring in a subject related to agriculture. They are Grant Fincham, Marshall County; Emily Glenn, Finney County; John Kennedy, Jackson County; and Amber Oerly, Cooper County, Missouri.

Two $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled at Fort Hays State University. Recipients are Sathena Scarborough, Howard County, Nebraska; and Camryn Youngers, Ford County.

Twenty-four recipients received $500 scholarships. These students are attending a Kansas college with a Kansas Farm Bureau Collegiate chapter. Students must be a Farm Bureau Collegiate member.

Recipients include:

Allen Community College

  1. Lindsey Whitten, Doniphan County
  2. Amanda Wray, Franklin County

Barton Community College

  1. Dawn Ledeboer, Wabaunsee County

Butler Community College

  1. Chad Hibdon, Franklin County
  2. Shelby Varner, Butler County

Colby Community College

  1. Hannah Eslinger, Sherman County
  2. Shyanne Jones, Labette County

Fort Hays State University

  1. Geordan Hayden, Ellis County
  2. Bryce Maneth, Barton County
  3. Patrick Zamrzla, Ellsworth County

Highland Community College

  1. Justin Wenger, Nemaha County

Hutchinson Community College

  1. Ellie Schwertfeger, Reno County

Kansas State University

  1. Brandon Carp, Sedgwick County
  2. Kayley Geesling, Reno County
  3. Ciara Hodgkinson, Pratt County
  4. Cale McCabe, Reno County
  5. Haley O’Neal, Bourbon County
  6. Sara Schlickau, Reno County
  7. Zoe Schultz, Gove County
  8. Isaac Wingert, Franklin County
  9. Seth Yenni, McPherson County

 Pratt Community College

  1. Caleb Hinck, Wabaunsee County
  2. Jaden Smith, Norton County

Seward County Community College

  1. Emma McClure, Stevens County

Kansas Farm Bureau's mission is to strengthen agriculture and the lives of Kansans through advocacy, education and service.