Dec 18, 2021

Heartland establishes disaster relief funds for Ellis, Trego, Rooks counties

Posted Dec 18, 2021 11:55 AM

News release

The Heartland Community Foundation has established three Disaster Relief Funds to meet the emergency needs in each Ellis, Rooks, and Trego Counties. The Ellis County Disaster Relief Fund, the Rooks County Disaster Relief Fund, and the Trego County Disaster Relief Fund will be able to grant immediate money to nonprofit organizations offering relief services in the impacted areas — following a major emergency, weather event, or other disaster, like the windstorm and wildfires our region experienced on Wednesday.

Nonprofit organizations, schools, churches, and other agencies that are providing direct relief help to people, property, or livestock in the impacted county may be eligible for grant money. Charitable organizations may apply by contacting Sarah Meitner, HCF Executive Director, at (785) 621-4090 or [email protected]. Application deadline is Jan. 21.

Heartland is encouraging residents and businesses to make a tax-deductible donation to their county’s Disaster Relief Fund. The money donated in each county will only be used to make grants to agencies serving that county. The impact of a $100 or $1,000 donation is much larger when combined with the donations of others.

Donations to the Disaster Relief Funds will be accepted at any time, now and beyond. It is our hope that with continued donations and investment growth over time, money held in the fund will provide a permanent safety net to local residents in the aftermath of an emergency.

Donate online at or mail your donation to: Heartland Community Foundation, PO Box 1673, Hays, KS 67601. Please note whether your gift is for the Ellis, Rooks or Trego Disaster Relief Fund.