Jul 06, 2021 8:00 PM

Wheatland Electric CEO wins board of directors seat with NCSC

Posted Jul 06, 2021 8:00 PM
Bruce W. Mueller
Bruce W. Mueller


General Manager and CEO of Wheatland Electric Cooperative Inc., Bruce W. Mueller has won a board of directors’ seat with the National Cooperative Services Corporation, which provides specialized financial services to electric cooperatives across the nation.

Mueller, who joined Wheatland Electric in 2012, will join the 10-member board following his election to the position by fellow NSCS voting members, including cooperative leaders across the country.

NCSC has helped cooperatives, including Wheatland, expand their services to meet community needs and save more than a billion dollars in financing costs through tax-advantaged financings.

The organization’s board of directors provide the knowledge, leadership, and commitment necessary to establish effective policies and goals and sets the organization’s corporate policies, identify strategic initiatives, and approve financing services.

“I am looking forward to working with the NCSC board on their continuance of the NCSC mission: to bridge the financial needs of the rural electric network with expectations of the global capital market, one cooperative at a time,” Mueller said.

As CEO/general manager, Mueller is responsible for directing the cooperative’s overall operations. Prior to Wheatland, he worked in the electric utility industry at Central Power and

Light (now American Electric Power) for 18 years and San Bernard Electric Cooperative in Texas for 10 years in executive management roles.

He holds a B.B.A. in finance from Texas State University, an M.B.A. in management from the University of Houston–Victoria and is also a graduate of NRECA’s Robert I. Kabat Management Internship Program. He currently serves on the board of Sunflower Electric Power Corporation, Wheatland’s power supplier and is an alternate board member for Kansas Electric Cooperatives.

At NCSC, Mueller will represent District 4, an expansive region encompassing the states of Kansas, Nebraska, Alaska, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming during his three-year term. For more information about NCSC, visit www.ncsc.coop.

— Great Bend Post