Nov 21, 2021 2:07 AM

🤼‍♂️ TIgers place two at Younes Hospitality Open in Kearney

Posted Nov 21, 2021 2:07 AM

KEARNEY, Neb. - Fort Hays State Wrestling competed in the Younes Hospitality Open on Saturday (Nov. 20). Out of the 11 wrestlers competing for the Tigers, Marty Verhaeghe (Elite 184) and A.J. Cooper (Elite 285) placed in their respective weight classes.

Verhaeghe finished in third place in the Elite 184 bracket. He started off the day with wins by major decision 16-5 and sudden victory takedown 9-7, but then fell to No. 3 ranked Austin Eldredge from Nebraska-Kearney by decision, 9-6, in the semifinals. Verhaeghe found is way to the consolation finals with a win by fall in 6:30 and wrapped the day with a 3-2 decision over Calvin Sund from Air Force to win the consolation side of the bracket.

After making it through to the championship semifinals, Cooper finished fifth in the Elite 285 bracket. He won his first three matches by decision 4-2, technical fall 15-0, and a 5-4 decision. In the semis, Cooper was pinned in 4:38. He faced No. 6 ranked Lee Herrington from Nebraska-Kearney was pinned in 1:36. Cooper finished in fifth place after Jayson Davis from CSU-Pueblo had to medically forfeit.

Broderick Green (Elite 125) and Tony Caldwell (Elite 285) both won a pair of matches on the day, going 2-2.

The Tigers will be back in action on Saturday (Dec. 4) when they travel to Crete, Neb. for the Conner/Oppenheim Doane Open. Action will begin at 9 a.m.

Younes Hospitality Open 2021 Results for Fort Hays State

125 - Broderick Green (2-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Broderick Green received a bye
Champ. Round 2 - Brendon Garcia (Wyoming) won by decision over Broderick Green (Dec 7-4)
Cons. Round 2 - Broderick Green received a bye
Cons. Round 3 - Broderick Green won by tech fall over Trinity Robertson (Colby Community College) (TF 16-0)
Cons. Round 4 - Broderick Green won by decision over Oscar Nellis (Minot State) (Dec 7-3)
Cons. Round 5 - Brendon Garcia (Wyoming) won by decision over Broderick Green (Dec 4-3)
125 - Rhett Koppes (0-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Rhett Koppes received a bye
Champ. Round 2 - Darrick Stacey (Wyoming) won by fall over Rhett Koppes (Fall 0:42)
Cons. Round 2 - Rhett Koppes received a bye
Cons. Round 3 - Marco Herrera (Colby Community College) won by decision over Rhett Koppes (Dec 4-0)
125 - Tom VanValkenburg (1-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Tom VanValkenburg received a bye
Champ. Round 2 - Cian Apple (Unattached - Colorado Mesa U) won by decision over Tom VanValkenburg (Dec 9-6)
Cons. Round 2 - Tom VanValkenburg received a bye
Cons. Round 3 - Tom VanValkenburg won by decision over Evan Shell (Morningside (Iowa)) (Dec 10-7)
Cons. Round 4 - Darrick Stacey (Wyoming) won by fall over Tom VanValkenburg (Fall 1:54)
133 - Gunnar Smith (1-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Mario Ybarra (Concordia (Neb.)) won by decision over Gunnar Smith (Dec 3-2)
Cons. Round 1 - Gunnar Smith won by decision over Isaiah DeLaCerda (Adams State) (Dec 8-4)
Cons. Round 2 - Devin Lueck (Colorado State University - Pueblo) won by fall over Gunnar Smith (Fall 3:59)
141 - Cole Zebley (0-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Cole Zebley received a bye
Champ. Round 2 - Jonathan Killingsworth (Nebraska-Kearney) won by fall over Cole Zebley (Fall 6:01)
Cons. Round 2 - Naikoa Simao (Schreiner University) won by fall over Cole Zebley (Fall 5:43)
157 - Cody Hicks (1-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Ruben Garcia (Colorado State University - Pueblo) won by fall over Cody Hicks (Fall 1:36)
Cons. Round 1 - Cody Hicks received a bye
Cons. Round 2 - Cody Hicks won by fall over Nick Hammond (Schreiner University) (Fall 2:59)
Cons. Round 3 - Cooper Voorhees (Wyoming) won by decision over Cody Hicks (Dec 9-4)
157 - Anthony Scantlin (1-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Anthony Scantlin received a bye
Champ. Round 2 - Anthony Scantlin won by fall over Austin Filliez (Doane University) (Fall 0:52)
Quarterfinal - Josiah Rider (Adams State) won by decision over Anthony Scantlin (Dec 5-3)
Cons. Round 4 - Cooper Voorhees (Wyoming) won in sudden victory - 1 over Anthony Scantlin (SV-1 3-1)
165 - Clint Herrick (0-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Hunter Mullin (Western Colorado University) won by tech fall over Clint Herrick (TF 19-2)
Cons. Round 1 - Clint Herrick received a bye
Cons. Round 2 - Hayden Johnson (Western Colorado University) won by fall over Clint Herrick (Fall 2:06)
184 - Marty Verhaeghe (4-1) 3rd place
Champ. Round 1 - Marty Verhaeghe won by major decision over Derek Brown (Colorado State University - Pueblo) (Maj 16-5)
Quarterfinal - Marty Verhaeghe won in sudden victory - 1 over Nolan Krone (Unattached - Colorado Mesa U) (SV-1 9-7)
Semifinal - Austin Eldredge (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Marty Verhaeghe (Dec 9-6)
Cons. Semi - Marty Verhaeghe won by fall over Jacari Deal (Nebraska-Kearney) (Fall 6:30)
3rd Place Match - Marty Verhaeghe won by decision over Calvin Sund (Air Force) (Dec 3-2)
285 - Tony Caldwell (2-2)
Champ. Round 1 - Tony Caldwell won by decision over Samuel Peterson (Doane University) (Dec 7-0)
Champ. Round 2 - Sammy Deseriere (Western Colorado University) won by fall over Tony Caldwell (Fall 2:30)
Cons. Round 2 - Tony Caldwell won by fall over Robert Hernandez (Schreiner University) (Fall 0:48)
Cons. Round 3 - Lee Herrington (Nebraska-Kearney) won by decision over Tony Caldwell (Dec 7-3)
285 - A.J. Cooper (4-2) 5th place
Champ. Round 1 - A.J. Cooper won by decision over Gabriel Carranza (Colorado Mesa University) (Dec 4-3)
Champ. Round 2 - A.J. Cooper won by tech fall over Austin Coppinger (Briar Cliff (Iowa)) (TF 15-0)
Quarterfinal - A.J. Cooper won by decision over Gerardo Jaime (Mary) (Dec 5-4)
Semifinal - Gavin Nye (Colorado State University - Pueblo) won by fall over A.J. Cooper (Fall 4:38)
Cons. Semi - Lee Herrington (Nebraska-Kearney) won by fall over A.J. Cooper (Fall 1:36)
5th Place Match - A.J. Cooper won by medical forfeit over Jayson Davis (Colorado State University - Pueblo) (MFF)

FHSU Athletics