Mar 03, 2024

🤼‍♂️ FHSU's Henry claims second-straight regional title

Posted Mar 03, 2024 3:51 AM

FHSU Athletics

PUEBLO, Colo. - Fort Hays State men's wrestling junior Tereus Henry defended his Super Region VI championship Saturday, finishing 4-0 for a second year in a row to claim the title at 197 pounds.

With the regional championship, Henry locked in his third-consecutive trip to the NCAA DII Championships, held this year in Wichita, Kan. at Hartman Arena March 15-16.

Fort Hays State placed ninth as a team at regionals, compiling 23.5 team points.

Despite being seeded second in the 197-pound bracket, Henry was one of just four wrestlers in the 10-man bracket that drew a first-round match. The El Paso, Texas native took care of business against Adams State's Ben Tonnessen, recording takedowns in each the first and second period to secure an 8-3 decision.

Facing off with a fresh Laith Gilmore of San Francisco State, Henry dominated his way to the semifinals with an 8-0 major decision. After a scoreless first period, Henry recorded a quick escape and later managed a takedown in the second period before recording another takedown midway through the third period.

Henry used a narrow 2-1 decision against Colorado Mesa's Gabe Carranza to reach the finals and secure a trip to Wichita. Neither side scored in the first period before Henry opened the second period on top. He maintained control for 100 seconds to start the frame, racking up 1:40 of riding time. Henry then managed a quick escape in the third period and avoided any stress the rest of the way to lock up the win via the riding time point.

Henry then faced off with Nebraska-Kearney's Jackson Kinsella in the first-place bout. After Henry finished last season 3-0 against Kinsella, the Loper got the best of Henry in both of their meetings this season. Neither competitor managed a takedown in regulation, with both recording quick escapes in the second and third periods to leave the score tied at one after seven minutes. Henry came out on top in the first sudden victory period, recording a takedown 51 seconds into the extra period to secure the win.

Kevin Honus and Tony Caldwell were the lone Tigers to pick up wins via pin on the day, with each doing so in their first consolation bout. Marcell Dely racked up a 13-5 major decision in his first bout on the backside, while Juan Urbina also picked up a win in his first consolation bout with a 15-8 decision. All four Tigers finished the day 1-2. The rest of the team finished the tournament 0-2.

Nebraska-Kearney won the team championship with 143.5 points after qualifying eight individuals for nationals.

A returning All-American after placing third at last year's national meet, Henry will wrap up his junior season in two weeks when he makes the short trip to Hartman Arena to compete at his third national championship March 15-16.

Full FHSU Results
125 | D'Andre Brown - 0-2

Champ. Round 1 - Isaiah Gamez (ASU) won by tech fall over D'Andre Brown (TF-1.5 6:43 (17-2))
Cons. Round 1 - D'Andre Brown received a bye
Cons. Round 2 - Rhys Sellers (NMHU) won by major decision over D'Andre Brown (MD 12-3)

133 | Kevin Honas - 1-2 - 3.0 team points
Champ. Round 1 - Drew Arnold (UNK) won by tech fall over Kevin Honas (TF-1.5 1:44 (15-0))
Cons. Round 1 - Kevin Honas received a bye
Cons. Round 2 - Kevin Honas won by fall over Julius Kohn (NMHU) (Fall 4:27)
Cons.Round 3 - Tony Margiotta (SFSU) won by fall over Kevin Honas (Fall 4:16)

141 | Drew Bell - 0-2
Champ. Round 1 - Angel Flores (ASU) won by tech fall over Drew Bell (TF-1.5 3:57 (17-2))
Cons. Round 1 - Drew Bell received a bye
Cons. Round 2 - Denim Torgerson (CMU) won by fall over Drew Bell (Fall 3:45)

149 | Marcell Dely - 1-2 - 1.5 team points
Champ. Round 1 - Marcell Dely received a bye
Quarterfinal - Cody Thompson (Colo. Mines) won by fall over Marcell Dely (Fall 0:59)
Cons. Round 2 - Marcell Dely won by major decision over Deklyn Miller (NMHU) (MD 13-5)
Cons. Round 3 - John Burger (UNK) won by major decision over Marcell Dely (MD 10-0)

157 | Hunter Harris - 0-2
Champ. Round 1 - Hunter Harris received a bye
Quarterfinal - Ryan Wilson (WCU) won by major decision over Hunter Harris (MD 15-2)
Cons. Round 2 - Hunter Harris received a bye
Cons. Round 3 - Hunter Gilmore (CSC) won by tech fall over Hunter Harris (TF-1.5 6:36 (18-0))

165 | Cody Hicks - 0-2
Champ. Round 1 - Cody Hicks received a bye
Quarterfinal - Walker Heckendorf (WCU) won by decision over Cody Hicks (Dec 9-4)
Cons. Round 2 - Ivan Smith Jr. (NMHU) won by decision over Cody Hicks (Dec 5-3)

174 | Juan Urbina - 1-2 - 0.5 team points
Champ. Round 1 - Juan Urbina received a bye
Quarterfinal - Cole Hernandez (WCU) won by major decision over Juan Urbina (MD 11-2)
Cons. Round 2 - Juan Urbina won by decision over Thomas Tolbert (NMHU) (Dec 15-8)
Cons. Round 3 - Gage Mettler (SFSU) won by major decision over Juan Urbina (MD 11-3)

184 | Matthew Rodriguez - 0-2
Champ. Round 1 - Jason Bynarowicz (CMU) won by fall over Matthew Rodriguez (Fall 3:45)
Cons. Round 1 - Matthew Rodriguez received a bye
Cons. Round 2 - Keegan Gehlhausen (CSC) won by fall over Matthew Rodriguez (Fall 3:14)

197 | Tereus Henry (25-7) - 1st place - 4-0 - 16.0 team points
Champ. Round 1 - Tereus Henry won by decision over Ben Tonnessen (ASU) (Dec 8-3)
Quarterfinal - Tereus Henry won by major decision over Laith Gilmore (SFSU) 5(MD 8-0)
Semifinal - Tereus Henry won by decision over Gabe Carranza (CMU) (Dec 2-1)
1st Place Match - Tereus Henry won in sudden victory - 1 over Jackson Kinsella (UNK) (SV-1 4-1)

285 | Tony Caldwell - 1-2 - 2.5 team points
Champ. Round 1 - Tony Caldwell received a bye
Quarterfinal - Tyler Doyle (CMU) won by decision over Tony Caldwell (Dec 11-4)
Cons. Round 2 - Tony Caldwell won by fall over Wil Aucoin (ASU) (Fall 3:34)
Cons. Round 3 - Mason Watt (CSC) won by fall over Tony Caldwell (Fall 1:14)