Jun 30, 2020 12:30 AM

🎥 Gov. Kelly mandates all Kansans wear masks starting July 3

Posted Jun 30, 2020 12:30 AM
Gov. Laura Kelly arrived at Monday's press briefing wearing a mask
Gov. Laura Kelly arrived at Monday's press briefing wearing a mask

TOPEKA — Gov. Laura Kelly held a press briefing  Monday afternoon to discuss the increase in COVID-19 cases in Kansas.  She announced that beginning 12:01 a.m. July 3 every Kansan in a public space will be required to wear a mask. Local officials will be responsible for enforcing the mandate, according to the governor.

“This is a simple, proactive step we can take to keep Kansans at work, get our kids back to school, and keep ourselves and our neighbors healthy,” Governor Kelly said. “Wearing a mask is not only safe – but it is necessary to avoid another shut down.

“Remember – my mask protects you, and your mask protects me,” Governor Kelly said. “We’re all in this together.”

Under the order, most Kansans must wear masks in stores and shops, restaurants, and in any situation in which social distancing of 6 feet cannot be maintained, including outside. The EO will be released on Thursday, and will provide specific guidance regarding under what circumstances masks must be worn.

“I know Kansans will have many questions about this order – and we will answer them when it is released later this week,” Governor Kelly said. “But by announcing the requirement today, people in our state will have the appropriate time to acquire the masks.”

The Kansas Attorney General’s Office will work closely with officials in Governor Kelly’s administration to ensure that the order complies with Kansas law.

The number of confirmed coronavirus cases in Kansas increased by 905 to a total of 14,443, the state health department reported Monday afternoon. 

Coronavirus deaths were reported at 270.

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has added two states to the quarantine list: South Carolina and Florida and removed Maryland. This is in effect for persons arriving in or returning to Kansas  June 29, and moving forward. The state will review/update this list every two weeks.

A comprehensive list of those individuals needing to quarantine for 14 days includes visitors and Kansans who have:

Traveled to:

  1. South Carolina and Florida on or after June 29.
  2. Alabama, Arizona and Arkansas on or after June 17.
  3. Been on a cruise ship or river cruise on or after March 15.
  4. International travel on or after March 15.

Others who need to continue quarantining:

  1. Received notification from public health officials (state or local) that you are a close contact of a laboratory-confirmed case of COVID-19.