Jan 12, 2021 11:25 AM

FHSU grad, Penokee resident named to Hansen Foundation board of directors

Posted Jan 12, 2021 11:25 AM
Rhonda Goddard
Rhonda Goddard

News release

LOGAN — The Dane G. Hansen Foundation is pleased to welcome Rhonda Goddard, rural Penokee, as the newest member of the board of trustees, effective immediately.

Goddard is a graduate of Fort Hays State University with a B.B.A. in accounting and is a certified public accountant. She is currently employed as the chief financial officer for Nex-Tech. Through her twenty-seven years of experience in telecommunications, she has helped the company increase its assets and its broadband network from dial-up to fiber broadband service across a ten thousand square mile area of western and central Kansas. 

In addition to her professional skills, her volunteer work is vast, including serving as vice president of the Morland Community Foundation, as a board member and treasurer of the Graham County Hospital, founder and president of Nex-Generation Round Up for Youth, a member of the board of Osborne Industries and a board member of the Communication Coalition of Kansas. 

“I am a passionate supporter of the rural way of life,” Goddard said. “The mission of the Hansen Foundation is close to my heart, and I look forward to working with the other trustees and the staff to continue creating opportunities for northwest Kansas to thrive.”

Goddard grew up in rural Morland, the great- granddaughter of Irish immigrants.  She and her husband John raised their two sons, Lucas and Cordell on the family ranch near Penokee.  Farming and ranching since 1884, the family also own and operate a small equipment sales and manufacturing business, started in the late 1950s.  Believing strongly in the rewards of hard work, she shares with her ancestors and her family a vision to foster a better quality of life across the area. 

Goddard is a private pilot and enjoys horseback riding and walking in her spare time.    

Goddard’s appointment follows the retirement of former trustee, Doyle Fair, who served the foundation for 32 years.  She joins current board members, Doug Albin, WaKeeney; Carol Bales, Logan; Warren Gfeller, Russell; Robert Hartman, Hays; Cy Moyer, Phillipsburg; and Brien Stockman, Logan.

The Dane G. Hansen Foundation was established in 1965 with an estate gift from Dane G. Hansen. Based in Mr. Hansen’s hometown of Logan, Kansas, the foundation has been providing scholarships and grants to support growth and prosperity to the residents of northwest Kansas for 55 years. The foundation has a primary service area that includes the 26 most northwest counties in the state.